Occultism

Papus was one of the great figures of neo-occultism. His countless books present occult abilities, the invisible powers of Nature, and how to use them.

Occultism affirms the existence of energies called “fluids” that manifest an invisible world within the visible world, seeking analogies and correspondences between visible and invisible, but also between various beings. Therefore, practical occultism presupposes the knowledge and use of magic, astrology, divination techniques, occult medicine and alchemy.

Agrippa of Nettesheim, Eliphas Levi, Papus and the initiates around him developed rituals and practices to use these invisible forces for the sake of the postulant.

As Agrippa wrote: “Magic, [occultism, occult philosophy] is a faculty that has a very great power, full of very high mysteries, and which contains a very deep knowledge of the most secret things, their essence, their power, their quality, their substance, their effects, their difference, and their relation. Whence it produces its marvelous effects by the union and application it makes of the different virtues of the higher beings with those of the inferior. (...) Theology helps us to know who God is, who are the Angels, the Intelligences, the Daïmons, the soul, the mind, the religion ... the virtue of words and figures, secret operations and mysterious signs“.

To summarize, we can say that the occultist principles are based on three main points:

1- Energies and Spirits: Occultism is based on the belief of an invisible world made of energy and inhabited by spirits. This hidden world is embedded in the visible world. The magus knows and manipulates the following “occult powers:” the influence of the stars, the power of the sounds, the hidden action of the symbols, the geniuses of the places, the spirits of the forest, etc.

2- Sympathies and antipathies: Everything around us is linked by rules of sympathy and antipathy, that is to say of friendship or hostility that the magus must know and can use. The main text is from Ostanès the Mage. As he states: “Nature in such a case charms nature, nature in such a case dominates nature, nature in such a case is defeated by nature. The magnet and the iron are in sympathy, they are charmed.

3- Analogies and Correspondences: The fundamental doctrine of occultism is that of analogies and correspondences. There are symbolic relationships between the spiritual world and the material world, vertically, from top to bottom, and horizontally, between the various elements of each world, spiritual or material. The main text stating this law is the famous Emerald Table of Hermes Trismegistus: “What is below is like what is above, and what is above is like what is below, to do the miracles of an only thing.” For example, there is an analogy, an identity of structure between God (above) and the Sun (below), between the World (macrocosm) and Man (microcosm), and correspondences, homologies, correlations, relations between the Mineral kingdom of the World and the bones of Man, between the Sun and the right eye, etc.

All the books we just mentioned (Agrippa, Eliphas Levi, Papus) are the subject of lessons in the Order. The keys found in these books are practiced under the protection of the egregore.

This is the way the initiate can progress efficiently, using all the sacred powers that the heavenly powers have placed in his soul.

  • OKRC Facebook Page

© 2019 Kabbalistic Order of theRose-Cross

L'occultisme

Papus fut une des grandes figures de ce que l’on peut appeler le néo-occultisme. Ses œuvres innombrables présentent les facultés occultes de l'Homme, les forces invisibles de la Nature et les moyens de les utiliser.

L'occultisme, affirme l'existence de 'fluides' manifestant un monde invisible à l'intérieur du monde visible, recherche des analogies et correspondances entre visible et invisible, mais aussi entre les divers êtres. Par conséquent l'occultisme pratique, suppose la connaissance et l'utilisation de la magie, de l'astrologie, des mancies, de la médecine occulte et de l'alchimie.

Agrippa de Nettesheim, Eliphas Lévi, Papus et les initiés qui l’entouraient développèrent des rites et pratiques destinés à utiliser ces forces invisibles pour le bien de l’aspirant.

Comme l’écrit Agrippa : « La Magie, [l'occultisme, la philosophie occulte] est une faculté qui a un très grand pouvoir, plein de mystères très relevés, et qui renferme une très profonde connaissance des choses les plus secrètes, leur nature, leur puissance, leur qualité, leur substance, leurs effets, leur différence et leur rapport : d'où elle produit ses effets merveilleux par l'union et l'application qu'elle fait des différentes vertus des êtres supérieurs avec celles des inférieurs. (...) La Théologie nous fait connaître ce que c'est que Dieu, ce que sont les Anges, les Intelligences, les Daïmons, l'Âme, la Pensée, la Religion... la vertu des paroles et des figures, des opérations secrètes et de signes mystérieux ».

Pour résumer nous pouvons dire que les principes occultistes reposent sur 3 points principaux :

1- Fluides et esprits : L’occultisme se fonde sur la croyance en un monde invisible de fluides ou esprits agissants, incrusté dans le monde visible. Le mage connaît et manipule les "vertus occultes" : l'influence des astres, la force des sons ou l'action cachée des symboles, ou les génies des lieux, les esprits de la forêt...

2- Sympathies et antipathies : Les objets entrent dans des rapports de sympathie et d'antipathie, c'est-à-dire d'amitié ou d'hostilité que le mage doit connaître et peut utiliser. Le texte phare est alors celui-ci, d'Ostanès le Mage : « La nature dans tel cas charme la nature, la nature dans tel cas domine la nature, la nature dans tel cas est vaincue par la nature. » L'aimant et le fer sont en sympathie (ils se « charment »). « L'animal antipathique du basilic [un serpent] est la belette domestique, dont il ne supporte ni l'odeur ni la vue ».

3- Analogies et correspondances : La doctrine fondamentale de l'occultisme est celle des analogies et des correspondances. Il existe des relations d'identité symbolique entre le monde spirituel et le monde matériel, verticalement, de haut en bas, et, horizontalement, entre les divers éléments de chaque monde, spirituel ou matériel. Le texte phare reste ici la Table d'émeraude d'Hermès Trismégiste : « Ce qui est en bas est comme ce qui est en haut, et ce qui est en haut est comme ce qui est en bas, pour faire les miracles d'une seule chose. » Par exemple, il y a analogie, identité de structure entre Dieu (en haut) et le Soleil (en bas), entre le Monde (macrocosme) et l'Homme (microcosme), et correspondances, homologies, corrélations, apparentements entre le règne minéral du Monde et les os de l'Homme, entre Soleil et œil droit...

 

L’ensemble des livres que nous venons de citer, (Agrippa, Eliphas Levi, Papus) font l’objet d’enseignements de l'Ordre. Les clés qui s’y trouvent sont pratiquées sous la protection de l'égrégore.

C’est de cette façon que l’initié pourra progresser avec efficacité, utilisant tous les pouvoirs sacrés que les puissances célestes ont placé en son âme.

© 2018 Ordre Kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix