The original Gnosis

Gnosticism is an important heretical movement of the Christian Church, that occurred during the 2nd century. It is partly of pre-Christian origin. Several Gnostic schools have taught that the material world was created and is directed by a minor divine emanation of the highest God, the demiurge, enclosing the divine spark in the human body. This divine spark can be released by Gnosis and the assistance of Christ.

Gnosticism is a modern name that etymologically means “to possess knowledge.”

Gnostic ideas and systems developed in the Mediterranean world during the second century CE, in conjunction with and under the influence of early Christian movements. Various aspects of the Platonic tradition of the same period were intertwined with it. After the second century, a decline began but Gnosticism survived through the centuries within the Western tradition. Then it re-emerged during the Middle Ages in the southwest of France and the north of Italy.

It is undeniable that many Gnostic schools in antiquity were considered heretical by the religious power that became the Catholic and the Orthodox Churches. These gnostic groups were attacked and eventually eliminated. During the Middle Ages, the Cathars were also exterminated by order of the papacy.

In the 19th century, the adepts Rose-Cross incorporated various Gnostic notions derived from archaeological discoveries and spiritual revelations. Today, the Kabbalistic Order of the Rose-Cross continues this work based on the gospels, text and Gnostic rites belonging to this very tradition.

It is easy to understand that Christian esotericism draws on this original source developed in Egypt between the 1st and the 5th centuries CE. Very few initiatic Orders transmit this knowledge in the form of initiatic rites.

However, far from being limited to this essential inner experience, our Order teaches both secret practices and Gnostic doctrine. These two elements constitute a fundamental part of the Rose-Cross Tradition and open up the mystical encounter with Ieschouah, the Christ.

  • OKRC Facebook Page

© 2019 Kabbalistic Order of theRose-Cross

La Gnose originelle

Le Gnosticisme est un mouvement hérétique important de l'Église chrétienne du 2e siècle, partiellement d’origine préchrétienne. Plusieurs écoles gnostiques ont enseigné que le monde matériel a été créé et dirigé par une émanation divine mineure du Dieu le plus élevé, le démiurge, enfermant l’étincelle divine dans le corps humain. Cette étincelle divine peut être libérée par la Gnose et l'assistance du Christ.

 

Le Gnosticisme est un nom moderne qui signifie étymologiquement "posséder la connaissance."

 

Les idées et les systèmes gnostiques se sont développés dans le monde méditerranéen au cours du deuxième siècle après notre ère, en conjonction et sous l’influence des premiers mouvements Chrétiens. Divers aspects de la tradition platonicienne de cette même époque s’y trouva mêlée. Après le deuxième siècle, un déclin débuta mais le Gnosticisme survécut au travers des siècles au sein de la tradition occidentale. Puis il refit surface au cours du Moyen Age, dans le sud-ouest de la France et le nord de l’Italie.  

 

Il est indéniable que plusieurs écoles gnostiques dans l’antiquité étaient considérées comme hérétiques par le pouvoir religieux qui devint l’église catholique et l’église orthodoxe. Ces écoles furent attaquées et finalement éliminées. Ce fut identique pendant le Moyen Age pour les Cathares, qui furent également exterminés sur ordre de la papauté.

 

Les Rose-Croix de notre Ordre du 19e siècle y intégrèrent d’autres notions gnostiques découlant des découvertes archéologiques et des révélations spirituelles. Aujourd’hui, l’Ordre Kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix a continué cette œuvre se fondant sur les évangiles, traités et rites gnostiques appartenant à cette même tradition.

Il est aisé de comprendre que l’ésotérisme chrétien puise à cette source originelle développée en Égypte entre le 1er et le 5e siècle. Très rares sont les Ordres initiatiques transmettant cette connaissance sous la forme de rites initiatiques.

Cependant loin de se limiter à cette expérience intérieure essentielle, notre Ordre enseigne à la fois les pratiques secrètes et la doctrine gnostique. Elles constituent une part fondamentale de la Tradition Rose-Croix et ouvrent à la rencontre mystique avec Ieschouah, le Christ.

© 2018 Ordre Kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix