Martinism & K.O.R.C.

A few months after creating the Kabbalistic Order of the Rose-Cross, more than 80 years after the death of Saint Martin, Papus and Chaboseau, both Grand Officers of the Order, discovered they had received a consecration dating back to the famous theosophist.

Papus claimed to have been initiated in 1882 to the rank of U.S. “Unknown Superior” (Supérieur Inconnu- S.I. in French) by Henri Delaage, who claimed a direct link with Saint-Martin by the system of “free initiations.” As for Chaboseau, his filiation would have been transmitted to him by his aunt Amelie de Boisse-Mortemart. Both decided to initiate each other and immediately informed the other leaders of the Order. Papus and Chaboseau gave this essentially spiritual tradition coming from Louis-Claude de Saint-Martin to the Kabbalistic Order of the Rose-Cross. As Delaage stated, it was only materialized by “two letters and a few points.”

Immediately aware of the richness of this heritage, the Order gave a body to this transmission by associating it with the initiation of “Unknown Philosopher” of the Masonic system of H.-T. Tschudi. Then, “Unknown Superior” became the preliminary degree of the Order. The Masonic version, originally essentially symbolic, was thus activated by the ritualistic knowledge of the members of the Order. The “Shining Star” was once again able to fully radiate.

From that moment, any new member of the Kabbalistic Order of the Rose-Cross would first receive the “Unknown Superior,” “Adept of Saint Martin.”

Remember that Louis-Claude de Saint-Martin founded a “small school in Paris” a few years after the death of his master Martinès de Pasqually. This school (community) aimed at the purest spirituality. He incorporated the doctrines of Martinès into his own, and instituted the degree of U.S. This title was a resumption of the distinctive name of the supreme dignity of the members of the Sovereign Tribunal of the Order of the Elus Coen. Most secret societies used various degrees in their curriculum. Saint Martin chose to introduce a simple ritual consecration, whose goal was to communicate the key that opens the inner door of the soul though which we can reach the spheres of the Spirit. At these heights, no degrees are necessary. The only requirements are a manifestation of a true desire, a commitment of the soul and an awakening of the right will.

The principles were both identical to and different from those of the Order of the Elus -Coen. Techniques and ritual preparations, for example, have always been relatively simple in the school of Saint Martin. In this mystical way, unlike certain magical and theurgic schools, the preparation step was our daily inner work and our “moral attitude of purity.” This means that all ritual preparations are useless for someone who does not practice this inner step. This is the only condition to the approach of a true inner purity.

It is for this reason that the Kabbalistic Order of the Rose-Cross has always considered this initiation as a moral prerequisite for the training undertaken. It was therefore unnecessary to create a “Martinist Order.” The first step of “Unknown Philosopher” is fundamental and requires only minimal theoretical training. This state is spiritual and constitutes an indomitable inner step. How can we imagine that we must study Kabbalah, theology or any other science to engage morally in such an inner step? Someone focusing only on abstract ideas has nothing to do with this type of spirituality. This is what the Martinist Order from Origins was.

It was not until Papus and his successors that the idea appeared to make “Martinism” an Initiatic Order, organized in degrees crowned by the unique initiation given by Saint Martin, the “Unknown Superior.”

A few years later, in 1891, the Kabbalistic Order of the Rose-Cross asked Papus to develop the initiation of the Unknown Superior in the form of an external Order whose essential role would be spirituality and Christian chivalry. Papus chose to structure it according to the Masonic system of three degrees. The only real initiation was obviously that of U.S. (Unknown Superior). Papus’ mission was unambiguous: the goal was to allow a larger number of people to discover the thought of Saint-Martin and to undertake the moral process represented in the purest form of Christian chivalry.

This structure gave some stability to the Martinist Order, which continued to develop after the death of Papus and split later into a countless number of organizations.

The Kabbalistic Order of the Rose-Cross, faithful to its spirit, continued to accept candidates having been initiated “Unknown Superior,” or initiated them according to the original form as a prerequisite to the initiatic process undertaken.

The current Ill. Grand Patriarch Rose-Croix Jean-Louis de Biasi received all the Martinist lineages, making the Kabbalistic Order of the Rose-Cross one of the most legitimate heir of the Martinist Tradition.

Louis Claude de Saint Martin
  • OKRC Facebook Page

© 2019 Kabbalistic Order of theRose-Cross

Martinisme et O.K.R.C.

Quelques mois après avoir créé l’Ordre kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix, soit plus de quatre-vingts ans apres la mort de Saint-Martin, Papus et Chaboseau, tous deux membres de la direction de l’Ordre découvrirent qu’ils avaient reçu une filiation remontant au célèbre théosophe.

Papus affirma avoir été initié en 1882 au grade de S.I. « Supérieur Inconnu » par Henri Delaage qui se réclamait d’un lien direct avec Saint-Martin par le système « d’initiations libres ». Quant à Chaboseau, sa filiation lui aurait été transmise par sa tante Amélie de Boisse-Mortemart. Tous les deux décidèrent de s’initier mutuellement et informèrent immédiatement les autres responsables de l’Ordre. Papus et Chaboseau confirent cette filiation essentiellement spirituelle de Louis-Claude de Saint-Martin à l’Ordre kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix. Comme le déclara Delaage, elle n’était alors matérialisée que par « deux lettres et quelques points ». 

Immédiatement conscient de la richesse de cet héritage, l’Ordre donne un corps à cette transmission en l’associant à l’initiation de « Philosophe Inconnu » du système maçonnique de H.-T. de Tschoudi. Puis cette cérémonie de « Supérieur Inconnu » devint le degré préliminaire de l’Ordre. La version maçonnique qui était à l’origine essentiellement symbolique fut ainsi activée par les connaissances opératives des membres de l’Ordre. L’Etoile Flamboyante put alors pleinement rayonner de nouveau. 
A partir de ce moment, tout nouveau membre de l’Ordre kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix devait d’abord être reçu Supérieur Inconnu, Adepte de Saint-Martin. 
Ce premier degré de S:. I:. constitue le fondement moral et spirituel de l'Ordre. Il en est le préalable.

Rappelons que Louis-Claude de Saint-Martin fonda une "petite école à Paris" quelques années après la mort de son maître Martinès de Pasqually. Cette société (communauté) avait pour but la spiritualité la plus pure. Il intégra les doctrines de Martinès aux siennes et instaura comme unique degré celui de S:. I:.. Ce titre était une reprise de l'appellation distinctive de la dignité suprême des membres du Tribunal Souverain de l'Ordre des Elus-Cohens. Dans la plupart des sociétés secrètes l'initiation se faisait par degrés. Ici Saint-Martin choisit d'instaurer une transmission avant tout morale et spirituelle. Il s'agissait de recevoir la clé qui ouvre la porte intérieure de l'âme par laquelle on communique avec les sphères de l'Esprit. A ces hauteurs, nullle organisation en degrés n'est nécessaire. Seuls sont requis une manifestation du désir, un engagement de l'âme et un réveil de la volonté droite.

Les principes étaient à la fois identiques et différents à ceux de l’Ordre des Elus-Cohens. Les techniques et les préparations rituelles par exemple ont toujours été relativement simples dans l’école de Saint-Martin. Dans cette voie mystique, à la différence de certaines écoles magiques et théurgiques, l'étape préparatoire était constitué par notre travail intérieur quotidien et notre "attitude morale de pureté". Cela signifie que toutes les préprations rituelles sont inutiles pour quelqu'un qui ne pratique pas cette démarche intérieure. C’est la seule condition à l’approche d’une véritable pureté intérieure.

C’est pour cette raison que l'Ordre Kabbalistique de la Rose+Croix a toujours considéré ce grade comme préalable moral à la formation entreprise. Il n'était donc point nécessaire dans ce cas d'en faire un Ordre. Cette première étape de S.I. est donc fondamentale et paradoxalement ne nécessite qu'une formation théorique minimale. Cet état est spirituel et constitue une démarche intérieure indéfectible. Comment imaginer qu’il faille étudier la kabbale, la théologie ou toute autre science pour s’engager moralement dans une telle démarche intérieure. L’intellectuel n’a rien à voir avec ce type de prise de conscience.
Voilà ce que fut l'Ordre Martiniste des origines.

Il fallut attendre Papus et ses successeurs pour que naisse une volonté de faire du martinisme un ordre structuré en degrés menant à la seule initiation transmise par Saint-Martin, celle de S.I. (Supérieur Inconnu).

Quelques années plus tard, en 1891, l’Ordre kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix demanda à Papus de développer l’initiation de Supérieur Inconnu sous la forme d’un Ordre extérieur dont le rôle essentiel serait la spiritualité et la chevalerie chrétienne. Papus choisit de le structurer selon l’échelle maçonnique en trois grades. La seule réelle initiation fut évidemment la dernière, celle de S.I. (Supérieur Inconnu). Nulle ambiguité dans la mission confiée à Papus. Il s’agissait de permettre à un plus grand nombre de personnes de découvrir la pensée de Saint-Martin et d’entreprendre la démarche morale représentée dans la plus pure forme de chevalerie chrétienne.

Cette structure donna une perennité certaine à l’Ordre Martiniste qui continua à se développer après la mort de Papus et à se ramifier suviant les aléas de son histoire.

De son côté, l’Ordre kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix, fidèle à sa démarche, continua à accepter en son sein des candidats ayant déjà reçu l’initiation de Supérieur Inconnu ou la leur transmettait selon la forme originelle comme préalable à la démarche entreprise en son sein.

L'actuel Ill. Grand Patriarche Rose-Croix Jean-Louis de Biasi a reçu l'ensemble des filiations martinistes, ce qui fait de l'Ordre Kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix d'aujourd'hui l'un des plus légitimes.

Louis Claude de Saint Martin

© 2018 Ordre Kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix