François Charles Barlet

(1838 - 1921)

2nd Ill. G.P. R+C of the O.K.R.C.

F.-Ch. Barlet was one of the first members of the French branch of the Theosophical Society, which he left at the same time as Papus in 1888. In 1887, along with Papus, Josephin Peladan, Paul Sedir, Lucien Chamuel, Stanislas de Guaita, Augustin Chaboseau and many others, he belonged to a group called: “the Independent Group of Esoteric Studies” (GIDEE). When GIDEE took the name of “Hermetic School,” F.-Ch. Barlet was one of seven counsellors. He continued to be with Papus as member of the “Faculty of Hermetic Sciences” which was created from the “Hermetic School.” He became a member of the Kabbalistic Order of the Rose-Cross in 1888 and its Grand Master in December 1897 upon the death of Guaita. He also became a member of the First Supreme Council of the “Martinist Order” in March, 1891.

It is possible that F.-Ch. Barlet knew Max Théon as early as 1871. It seems established that, around 1885, he was a member of the “Hermetic Brotherhood of Luxor” (HB of L.) which Théon founded in London. When the HB of L. became the “Cosmic Movement,” F.-Ch. Barlet was nominated representative in Paris. He was director of “La Revue Cosmique” from 1901 to 1903 and took part in the publication of the first two volumes of La Tradition Cosmique in 1903. On two occasions, in 1900 and 1901, he visited Théon on his estate in Tlemcen in Algeria.

F.-Ch. Barlet was also bishop of the “Gnostic Church” founded by Jules Doinel in 1890, and representative in France of the “Eastern Esoteric Center,” which he left in 1908 when its founder, Albert de Saràk, was unmasked as a crook.

  • OKRC Facebook Page

© 2019 Kabbalistic Order of theRose-Cross

François Charles Barlet

(1838 - 1921)

2e Ill. G.P. R+C de l'O.K.R.C.

Albert Faucheux obtient son baccalauréat en 1864. Il va entreprendre des études de Droit à Dijon sous la pression de son père. Il obtient sa Licence en 1867, puis est admis dans l’Administration de l'Enregistrement. Il est affecté en Corse, puis en métropole. Il termine sa carrière à Abbeville en 1899 avec le titre de directeur de l'Enregistrement.

 

F.-Ch. Barlet est l’un des premiers membres de la branche française de la Société Théosophique1, qu’il quitte à la même époque que Papus en 1888. En 1887, aux côtés de Papus, Joséphin Peladan, Paul Sédir, Lucien Chamuel, Stanislas de Guaita, Augustin Chaboseau et de beaucoup d’autres, il est membre du Groupe indépendant des études ésotériques (GIDEE). Lorsque le GIDEE prend le nom d’École hermétique, F.-Ch. Barlet est l’un des sept conseillers, toujours avec Papus, de la Faculté des sciences hermétiques qui en émane. Avec Papus encore, il est membre de l’Ordre kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix en 1888 — dont il devient le Grand Maître en décembre 1897 à la mort de Guaita — puis membre du Premier Suprême Conseil de l’Ordre Martiniste en mars 1891.

 

Il est possible que F.-Ch. Barlet ait connu Max Théon dès 1871. Il semble établi que, vers 1885, il est membre de la Hermetic Brotherhood of Luxor (HB of L) fondé à Londres par Théon3. Lorsque le « Mouvement cosmique » succède à la HB of L, F.-Ch. Barlet en devient le représentant à Paris. Il est directeur de La Revue Cosmique de 1901 à 1903 et prend part à la publication des deux premiers volumes de La Tradition cosmique en 1903. À deux reprises, en 1900 et 1901, il rend visite à Théon dans sa propriété de Tlemcen.

 

F.-Ch. Barlet a en outre été « évêque » de l’Église gnostique fondée par Jules Doinel en 1890, et représentant en France du Centre ésotérique oriental, qu’il quitte en 1908 lorsque son fondateur, Albert de Saràk, est démasqué comme escroc.

Bilbiographie >

© 2018 Ordre Kabbalistique de la Rose-Croix